Sea Girt Lighthouse

Javascript is required to view this map.
200 Beacon Blvd. at Ocean Ave.
Sea Girt, NJ 08750
Nestled within an L-shaped Victorian building, the Sea GirtLighthouse first shone in 1896.

Like most lighthouses of the day, its fourth-order Fresnel lens revolved on ball bearing driven by complex clockworks.

With just one winding, the light turned for 7 1/2 hours, turning red for two seconds out of six.

Originally built to bridge the 40-mile gap between Barnegat Light and the Twin Lights of Navesink, this square red bricktower attached to a keeper's dwelling was decommissioned in1945.

The interior of the lighthouse has been meticulously restored by a local citizens committee and furnished in keeping with its historical period.

Open Sun. 2 pm - 4 pm the week after Easter to the week after Thanksgiving. Closed on major holidays. Free admission. Donations welcome. 732-974-0514.